The battle to secure a place in the 45-man field for the Apulia San Domenico Grand Final will be fought out the week before at the fifth and final new event on the Challenge Tour, the Egyptian Open. The US$250,000 tournament, in which Ryder Cup Captain Colin Montgomerie competed last year before it formed part of the Challenge Tour Schedule, sees the Tour’s first return to Egypt since the 2004 Sharm El Sheikh Challenge, which was won by England’s Gareth Davies. His compatriot Steven Tiley won last year’s Egyptian Open , when it was played at the JW Marriott Mirage City Golf Club in Cairo, by four shots from rising star Thorbjørn Olesen of Denmark. Other former winners of the event, which was first played in 1921, include Mohamed Said Doche, who won the event on 14 consecutive occasions between 1969 and 1982. More recently, Amr Abu El Ela took the title a total of 12 times, with his most recent victory coming in 2008.

“Following the success of the event in 2009 and the support we received from the Challenge Tour, we are proud that the Egyptian Open has achieved full European Challenge Tour status and is now part of the official Order of Merit,” said Egyptian Golf Federation Chairman Ayman Hussein.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund
2010Oct 20

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

PosPlayer NameNatHolePar
1TULLO, MarkCHI18-13
T2DE VRIES, FlorisNED18-12
T2MURRAY, GeorgeSCO18-12
T5GAUNT, DanielAUS18-9

Challenge Tour Sponsors

  • callaway
  • emirates
  • R&A
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.