Friday, 19 March 2010
Thomas Björn has been invited for the first time to compete in the Masters Tournament which in 1999 takes place at Augusta National on April 8-11.

Björn is one of no fewer than 13 European Tour Members, who have been invited to play in the Masters.

Seve Ballesteros, Nick Faldo, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle, José Maria Olazábal and Ian Woosnam, all former winners, will be seeking to win the coveted green jacket again.

Mark O’Meara, winner of both the Masters Tournament and Open Championship last year, returns to defend the title. In 1998 he followed a birdie at the 17th with another from 20 feet at the 18th for a final round of 67 to give himself a nine-under-par winning total of 279, one clear of American compatriots Fred Couples and David Duval.

A total of 99 players have been invited for the 1999 Masters Tournament. The list includes 74 US and 25 international players. Among those are six amateurs and 14 first-time participants. A total of 90 of the 99 invitees are expected to compete. In accordance with qualifications, invitations have been sent to Honorary Invitees.

Augusta National Golf Club Chairman Hootie Johnson said: "We are confident we will have a very strong field competing in this year’s Masters. The 1999 field is comprised of a outstanding golfers both internationally and from the United States."

Invitations may also be issued to those not qualified to date who win one of the 12 remaining US Tour events prior to the Masters, or finish among the top 50 leaders in the Official World Golf Ranking published during the fourth week prior to this year’s Masters.

Tommy Aaron
Billy Andrade
Stuart Appleby
George Archer
Paul Azinger
Seve Ballesteros
# Thomas Björn

Gay Brewer Jnr
Mark Brooks
Olin Browne
Jack Burke Jr
Mark Calcavecchia
Billy Casper
# Brandel Chamblee
Stewart Cink
Darren Clarke
Charles Coody
John Cook
Fred Couples
Ben Crenshaw
John Daly
# Glen Day
# Trevor Dodds
# Joe Durant
David Duval
Steve Elkington
Ernie Els
Bob Estes
Nick Faldo
Brad Faxon
Raymond Floyd
Doug Ford
# Carlos Franco
Fred Funk
Jim Furyk
#* Sergio Garcia
Bill Glasson
Bob Goalby
Jay Haas
# J P Hayes
Scott Hoch
John Huston
#* Trevor Immelman
Lee Janzen
# Brandt Jobe
Per-Ulrik Johansson
Steve Jones
Herman Keiser
* Matt Kuchar
#* Hank Kuehne
Bernhard Langer
Tom Lehman
Justin Leonard
# Frank Lickliter
Davis Love III
Sandy Lyle
Andrew Magee
Jeff Maggert
Shigeki Maruyama
Billy Mayfair
Scott McCarron
#* Tom McKnight
Phil Mickelson
* John Miller
Larry Mize
Colin Montgomerie
Byron Nelson
Jack Nicklaus
Greg Norman
Mark O'Meara
José Maria Olazábal
Masashi ‘Jumbo’ Ozaki
Arnold Palmer
Jesper Parnevik
Steve Pate
Corey Pavin
Chris Perry
Gary Player
Nick Price
Loren Roberts
Gene Sarazen
Vijay Singh
Jeff Sluman
Sam Snead
Craig Stadler
Payne Stewart
Steve Stricker
Hal Sutton
David Toms
Bob Tway
Scott Verplank
Art Wall Jr
Tom Watson
# Brian Watts
Lee Westwood
Willie Wood
Tiger Woods
Ian Woosnam
Fuzzy Zoeller

Bold denotes European Tour Member
# Denotes first Masters
* Denotes Amateur

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.