Friday, 19 March 2010

This is the 100th US Open Championship. The first was played in 1895. The US Open Championship was not held for two years (1917-18) during World War One and for four years (1942-45) during World War Two. The youngest winner of the US Open was 19-year-old John McDermott, who won in 1911. Eight players 21 or younger have won the US Open, but none that young since Bobby Jones did it in 1923. Since then, Jerry Pate is the youngest winner at age 22 in 1976. The oldest winner is Hale Irwin, who was 45 when he won in 1990. Only four players have ever won the Masters and US Open titles in the same year - Craig Wood (1941), Ben Hogan (1951 and 1953), Arnold Palmer (1960) and Jack Nicklaus (1972). Thirteen players have won both events in their professional careers.


Pebble Beach features two par threes on each nine, with one par five on the front nine and two par fives on the second nine. The second hole has been converted from a par 5 (as in each of the previous US Opens at Pebble Beach) to a 484-yard par four.


The starting field of 156 golfers will be cut after 36 holes to the low 60 scorers (and ties), and any player within ten strokes of the leader. In the case of a tie after 72 holes an 18 hole play off will be held on June 19, beginning at noon. The last play off was in 1994, won by Ernie Els ahead of Colin Montgomerie and Loren Roberts.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.