Thursday, 28 June 2012
Darren Clarke - 2011 Open Champion  (Getty Images)
Darren Clarke - 2011 Open Champion (Getty Images)
Open Champion Darren Clarke will receive the PGA Recognition Award at this year’s annual PGA Luncheon in London. The Ulsterman, who was due to receive the award last year, follows in the footsteps of other Claret Jug winners Sir Nick Faldo, Tony Jacklin and the late Seve Ballesteros in winning the award which celebrates his outstanding contribution to the game of golf. Clarke will pick up the accolade on Friday, December 21, at the Grosvenor House Hotel which stages the PGA annual charity fundraiser which among others helps the PGA Benevolent Fund supporting PGA members in times of hardship. “We had considered Darren for this award long before his Open triumph because he had already made an immense contribution to golf,” said PGA chief executive Sandy Jones. “His outstanding success in becoming Open Champion in 2011 meant his commitments prevented him from collecting this award last December but he is delighted to be able to receive it this year and we look forward to welcoming him as guest of honour at the lunch.” Clarke’s impressive career includes five successive Ryder Cup appearances while in 2003 he became the first player apart from Tiger Woods to capture more than one World Golf Championship title.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.