Wednesday, 26 March 2014
Renato Paratore  (EuropeanTour)
Renato Paratore (EuropeanTour)
The Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy teed off in India today with four former Junior Ryder Cup players selected on Andrew B Morgan’s European team to face Asia-Pacific.

The Junior Ryder Cup provides a platform for some of the world’s best young amateurs to experience a taste of the Ryder Cup spirit and this year it takes place at the beautiful Blairgowrie Golf Club, from September 22-23.

Three members of the squad from the 2012 edition at Olympia Fields – Dominic Foos of Germany, Irishman Gavin Moynihan and Italy’s Renato Paratore - will this week be showcasing their talents in India, where The European Tour’s EurAsia Cup also takes place.

Finland’s Albert Eckhardt, meanwhile, also plays in Bangalore having played in the 2012 Junior Ryder Cup at The Gleneagles Hotel.

Foos and Paratore, both of whom have used their previous Junior Ryder Cup experience to great use on The European Tour in the past 12 months – Foos finishing tied 16th at the 2014 Commercial Bank Qatar Masters and Paratore briefly challenging for the title at the 70° Open D'Italia Lindt last year – are also once again eligible for the 2014 Junior Ryder Cup.

They will be among the players hoping to impress the European team captain for the Junior Ryder Cup, Stuart Wilson, at the Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy as they aim for place in the 12-strong team for Blairgowrie.

The Ryder Cup Junior Match is a biennial contest between Europe and America, and the teams consist of boys and girls under the age of 18. The USA retained the trophy in 2012, winning 14½-9½ at Olympia Fields in Chicago.

The event is an international showcase of golf’s next generation, is designed to continue to build international friendships between top junior golfers in the United States and Europe. Notable past players include Rory McIlroy, Matteo Manassero, Carly Booth, Suzann Pettersen and Hunter Mahan.



Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.