Thursday, 20 November 2014
Numbers, numbers at the 2014 Q-School  (Getty Images)
Numbers, numbers at the 2014 Q-School (Getty Images)

After all was said and done, and 27 players gained their cards for The 2015 Race to Dubai, europeantour.com takes a look at the key statistics from Q-School Final Stage...


• A total of 924 players took part in the Qualifying School across the three stages. There were 735 who played in Stage 1, they were joined by 102 at Stage 2, with a further 87 exempt to the Final Stage.  This figure of 924 ranks fourth in the list of most entrants.

• A total of 27 players (25 and ties) earned their full European Tour cards for 2015, the same figure as 12 months ago.

• There were two players who came through all three Stages of the Qualifying School to gain a card. They were: Tom Murray and Daniel Woltman.

• There were ten players who were exempt into Stage 2 and gained a card.

• The remaining 15 players gained a card after being exempt into the Final Stage.
• Of the 27 qualifiers, there will be 11 rookies on The 2015 European Tour (Renato Paratore, Matt Ford, Rikard Karlberg, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Paul Maddy, Tom Murray, Anirban Lahiri, Jason Scrivener, Borja Virto, Daniel Woltman, Cyril Bouniol). 

• Of the 27 qualifiers, six were fully exempt European Tour Members in the 2014 season.

• The 27 qualifiers were made up from 12 different countries.

• Here are the countries and the breakdown of players: England (eight), Spain (four), Italy and Sweden (three), Australia (two). One each for: Argentina, Denmark, Finland, France, India, Norway and the United States.

• The youngest player to gain a card was Italian, Renato Paratore, aged 17 years and 341 days.  The oldest graduate was four-time, European Tour winner, Ricardo Gonzalez aged 45 years and 27 days. (The Argentine had the most victories of all the European Tour winners in the field).

• Renato Paratore, aged 17 years and 341 days became the third youngest European Tour Qualifying School graduate and youngest since 1982. The two younger than Paratore are: Magnus Persson 17 years and 116 days – 1982) and Alan Evans (17 years and 244 days – 1977).  Of the 924 players who participated in the European Tour Qualifying School, Paratore was the third youngest.

• Ricardo Gonzalez became the third oldest European Tour Qualifying School graduate, aged 45 years and 27 days. The only two older are: Gary Orr (45 years and 202 days – 2012) and Philip Golding (45 years and 119 days – 2007).

• Out of the 29 European Tour winners that began the Final Stage, only three gained a card, Ricardo Gonzalez (second), John Parry (sixth) and Andrew Dodt (tenth). (In all 35 European Tour winners teed up in the 2014 European Tour Qualifying School. Six entered at Stage 2 but failed to make it through).

• There were 32 players who played in both Stage 1 and 2 and got through to the Final Stage. Of the 32, 17 made the cut at the Final Stage.

• Mikko Korhonen became the first Finnish winner of The European Tour Qualifying School – Final Stage. Finland became the 15th different country to win the Final Stage.

• There were two former European Tour Qualifying School Final Stage winners who gained a card. They are: Richard McEvoy (2003) and John Parry (2012).

Get Adobe Flash player

Qualifying FAQS
Qualifying How To Enter

Latest Photos

Get Adobe Flash player

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.