Sergio Garcia  (Getty Images)
Sergio Garcia (Getty Images)

Sergio Garcia’s stunning return to winning ways with back-to-back victories in the Castelló Masters and the Andalucia Masters in his native country has earned the dashing Spaniard The Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Month Award for October.

The 31 year old claimed his first title since the HSBC Champions back in November 2008 when he turned in a compelling performance over his home course, Club de Campo del Mediterráneo, to capture the event by an 11 shot margin with a 27 under par total of 257.

Garcia promptly made it two wins in succession, for the first time in his European Tour career, by becoming the first Spaniard to claim a title over the fiendishly tricky Club de Golf Valderrama, where he had finished second in three consecutive Volvo Masters between 2004-2006.

In the space of two tournaments, Garcia amassed €833,330 to climb to 18th in the Official World Golf Ranking and seventh in The Race to Dubai.

Iain Carter, Golf Correspondent of BBC Radio Five Live, commented:   “It is fantastic to see one of the great talents of European golf back where he belongs. This was a stellar month for European golfers all around the world but the most eye-catching performances came in Europe, from Sergio.”

October turned out to be a memorable month for The European Tour, with a dramatic entrance to the professional ranks by Walker Cup winner, Tom Lewis of England, who secured his first professional title in just his third event, the Portugal Masters.

Lewis was a strong contender for the monthly award, as was his fellow countryman, Lee Slattery, who landed the Bankia Madrid Masters on his 183rd start on The European Tour. On the global front, Luke Donald produced a remarkable finish to claim the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals Classic and the 2011 US PGA Tour Money List title, while Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland captured the Lake Malaren Shanghai Masters in China.

However, Garcia topped the October poll and he joins an illustrious list of Race to Dubai Golfer of the Month winners in 2011, following Martin Kaymer (January), Luke Donald (February and May), Paul Lawrie (March), Charl Schwartzel (April), Rory McIlroy (June), Darren Clarke (July), Thomas Björn (August) and Michael Hoey (September).

Garcia will now, with his fellow award winners, be considered for The 2011 Race to Dubai European Tour Golfer of the Year Award, which was won jointly by Martin Kaymer and Graeme McDowell in 2010.

Get Adobe Flash player

Keep in touch with European Tour

R2D Fantasy

Latest PhotosMore

  • Robert Karlsson
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Joost Luiten
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Rafa Cabrera-Bello
  • Victor Dubuisson
  • Thorbjørn Olesen
  • Jamie Donaldson
  • Rafa Cabrera-Bello
  • Justin Rose
  • A couple of double bogeys for Rory McIlroy on moving day at Jumeirah Golf Estates
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Justin Rose - enjoying another good week at the DP World Tour Championship
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Henrik Stenson - out in 34 shots on moving day at the DP World Tour Championship
  • Rory McIlroy - looking to finish is phenomenal 2014 season off in style with victory at the DP World Tour Championship
  • Henrik Stenson
  • George O'Grady, Chief Executive of The European Tour, presents Rory McIlroy with the European Tour Golfer of the Month award for May, July and August
  • Luke Donald
  • Lee Westwood

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

European Tour Sponsors

  • Club Car

    Media Centre

    Official Partner

    Official Suppliers

    This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2014. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
    All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.