Friday, 19 March 2010
The final World Golf Championships event of the season - the EMC World Cup – starts in Argentina on Thursday when 24 teams from all corners of the globe gather at the Buenos Aires Golf Club.

This is the first time the EMC World Cup which started in 1953 has formed part of the World Golf Championship series and the event carries a purse of US$3 million (unofficial money) with the winning team splitting US$1 million.

Argentina’s team of Roberto De Vicenzo and Antonio Cerda won the first World Cup in 1953 in Montreal, Canada. The 2000 hosts also staged the World Cups of 1962 and 1970 World Cup at the Jockey Club in Buenos Aires..

The United States Team, represented by the world number one Tiger Woods and world number four David Duval, will be defending the title following their victory in Malaysia last year. The United States recorded their 22nd victory in the event when Mark O’Meara and Woods triumphed ahead of Spain.

This year Spain, four times winners of the event, are represented by Miguel Angel Jiménez and José Maria Olazábal in their bid to go one better than last year.

Angel Cabrera and Eduardo Romero team up for the host nation as they chase their first win since the inaugural event.

England, who won the title at Gulf Harbour in New Zealand two years ago, are represented by Morrocan Open champion Jamie Spence and Peugeot Open de España champion Brian Davis.

Padraig Harrington and Paul McGinley again join forces for Ireland in their bid to emulate their victory on 1997.

Volvo Masters and Scottish PGA Champion Pierre Fulke will partner Mathias Grönberg in Sweden’s bid to win the title for a second time.

Gary Orr, winner of the Algarve Portuguese Open and the Victor Chandler British Masters in 2000, will partner 1999 Open Champion Paul Lawrie while Wales, who won the title in 1987 will be represented by Ian Woosnam and Phillip Price.

The World Cup has been a forerunner in the development of golf on a global basis. It has travelled to 23 countries since its inception in 1953. Its theme over these many years has been "goodwill through golf". Its distinguished list of past champions includes Sam Snead, Jimmy Demaret, Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player, Peter Thomson, Roberto De Vicenzo, Lee Trevino, Johnny Miller, Hale Irwin, Seve Ballesteros, Ian Woosnam, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle, Fred Couples, Davis Love III, Nick Faldo, Ernie Els, Colin Montgomerie, among others.

Official EMC World Cup Website

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.