Tuesday, 13 November 2001
The United States, represented by World Number One Tiger Woods and World Number Three David Duval, will defend the World Golf Championships - EMC² World Cup this week when 24 teams from around the globe tee up at The Taiheiyo Club, Gotemba, in Japan.

Joining Duval and Woods for the second edition of the event under the World Golf Championships umbrella will be 30 European Tour Members who between them have won no fewer than 21 titles on The 2001 European Tour International Schedule.

Twelve months ago Duval and Woods overcame the tournament hosts Argentina, represented by European Tour Members Angel Cabrera and Eduardo Romero, in a thrilling tournament in Buenos Aires, and the Argentine pair will be seeking to go one better this year.

Duval and Woods, the respective Open and Masters Champions, are joined this year by the US Open Champion and winner of the 2001 Volvo Order of Merit, Retief Goosen, who partners double US Open Champion Ernie Els in a formidable South African side.

Another Major Champion in the field is Fiji's Vijay Singh, who was made an Honorary Member of The European Tour in May and won both the Carlsberg Malaysian Open and Caltex Singapore Masters in Asia earlier this season. Singh partners Dinesh Chand at The Taiheiyo Club.

The Irish pair of Padraig Harrington, Volvo Masters Andalucia champion, and Paul McGinley, winner of The Celtic Manor Resort Wales Open, again join forces in a bid to emulate their victory in 1997 at Kiawah Island. Among the other champions are two of the world's most exciting young players, Aaron Baddeley and Adam Scott, winners of the Greg Norman Holden International and Alfred Dunhill Championship respectively, who will be representing Australia.

Ryder Cup player Thomas Björn, who held off the challenge of Woods to capture the Dubai Desert Classic in March, will partner Søren Hansen for Denmark while Paul Casey, the Gleneagles Scottish PGA champion, replaces the injured Warren Bennett and teams up with Ian Poulter, the Moroccan Open champion, for England.

Raphäel Jacquelin joins forces with Thomas Levet, who became the first Frenchman to triumph on British soil since Arnaud Massy in 1907 when he claimed the Victor Chandler British Masters title in June.

Spain are represented by Sergio Garcia, winner of two events on the US PGA Tour in addition to the Trophée Lancôme, and Miguel Angel Jiménez while Andrew Coltart The Great North Open winner and Dean Robertson play for Scotland.

Sweden are represented by Niclas Fasth, runner-up in the Open Championship at Royal Lytham & St Annes, and Robert Karlsson, winner of the Via Digital Open de España.

Mark Mouland pairs up with Algarve Open de Portugal champion Phillip Price, who makes his eighth appearance in the competition for Wales. Zimbabwe feature Tony Johnstone (Qatar Masters) and Mark McNulty (Mercedes-Benz South African Open) and New Zealand's Michael Campbell (Heineken Classic), who teams up with David Smail, completes the list of European Tour champions from 2001 competing this week.

Other European Tour Members include the Norwegians Per Haugsrud and Henrik Bjornstad. Maarten Lafeber and Robert-Jan Derksen, who graduated from the Challenge Tour this year, will be playing for Holland.

The Gotemba Course at The Taiheiyo Club is considered one of the top courses in Japan. Designed by Shunsuke Kato, one of Japan's leading golf course architects, it offers views of Mount Fuji from all areas of the course.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.