Friday, 19 March 2010
The Dubai Desert Classic was first played in 1989 and the roll of honour includes five different Major Champions. They are: Seve Ballesteros (1992), Ernie Els (1994, 02), Fred Couples (1995), José Maria Olazábal (1998) and Mark O’Meara (2004). Between them they have won 13 Major Championships.

The defending champion, Mark O’Meara, of the United States will try and create Dubai Desert Classic history by becoming the first player to successfully defend the crown.

In 2004 O’Meara became the oldest winner of the Dubai Desert Classic, aged 47 and 54 days and the sixth in European Tour history. Here is the list of oldest winners on The European Tour:

Des Smyth – 48 years and 34 days – 2001 Madeira Island Open
Neil Coles – 48 years and 14 days – 1982 Sanyo Open
Eduardo Romero – 47 years and 362 days – 2002 The Barclays Scottish Open
Christy O’Connor – 47 years and 187 days – 1972 Carrolls International
Mark McNulty – 47 years and 95 days – 2001 Mercedez-Benz South African Open
Mark O’Meara – 47 years and 54 days – 2004 Dubai Desert Classic
Harold Henning – 46 years and 295 days – 1981 KLM Dutch Open

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1BRAND JNR, GordonSCO18-1
2ELS, ErnieRSA18-19
T3JIMÉNEZ, Miguel AngelESP18-18
T3DODD, StephenWAL18-18
6HAVRET, GrégoryFRA18-13
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.