Friday, 19 March 2010
Since 1972 the event has witnessed eight playoffs. More than any other European Tour event:

Seve Ballesteros beat Bernhard Langer, 1985
Ian Woosnam beat Philip Walton, 1989
Nick Faldo beat Wayne Westner, 1992
Nick Faldo beat José Maria Olazábal, 1993
Sam Torrance beat Stuart Cage, Howard Clark, 1995
David Carter beat Colin Montgomerie, 1998
Søren Hansen beat Richard Bland, Niclas Fasth and Darren Fichardt, 2002
Michael Campbell beat Thomas Björn and Peter Hedblom, 2003

The Nissan Irish Open has a rich history of Major Champions. Here is a list of the 12 Major winners to have won the Nissan Irish Open:

1927 George Duncan
1932 Alf Padgham
1936 Reg Whitcombe
1938 Bobby Locke
1946 Fred Daly
1976 Ben Crenshaw
1977 Hubert Green
1983, 85, 86 Seve Ballesteros
1984, 87, 94 Bernhard Langer
1988, 89 Ian Woosnam
1990 José Maria Olazábal
1991-93 Nick Faldo

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1ROMERO, EduardoARG184
2MARTIN, Miguel AngelESP185
T3HOWELL, DavidENG18-9
T3DODD, StephenWAL18-9
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.