Friday, 17 June 2005
The Open de France has a rich history dating back to 1906, with Frenchman Arnaud Massy claiming the title, making it the oldest National Open Championship on Continental Europe. Here is the list of oldest Continental National Open Championships:

1906 – Open de France
1910 – Belgian Open
1911 – German Open
1912 – Open de España
1912 – The KLM Open (used to be Dutch Open)
1923 – Omega European Masters (used to be Swiss Open)
1925 – Telecom Italia Open

In 2004 Jean-Francois Remesy won the Open de France by seven shots to become the first Frenchman to win his National Open Championship since Jean Garaialde in 1969. Here is the list of French-born winners of the Championship:

1906 – Arnaud Massy
1907 – Arnaud Massy
1911 – Arnaud Massy
1912 – Jean Gassiat
1925 – Arnaud Massy
1936 – Marcel Dallemagne
1937 - Marcel Dallemagne
1938 - Marcel Dallemagne
1948 – Firmin Cavalo
1969 – Jean Garaialde
2004 – Jean-Francois Remesy

The Roll of Honour in the Open de France reads like a ‘Who’s Who’ of golf with no fewer the 18 Major Champions having won the title.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.