Friday, 19 March 2010

The 2005 event staged at Carton House for the first time, saw Stephen Dodd defeat David Howell at the first extra play-off hole.  That brought the number of Irish Open play-offs to nine since 1975. This represents the most of any European Tour event. The Open de France ALSTOM and Telecom Italia Open are next with seven each.

John O’Leary, in 1982 at Portmarnock was the last Irishman to win his National Open. He followed in the footsteps of: Fred Daly (1946), Harry Bradshaw (1947, 49) and Christy O’Connor Jnr (1975).

The Nissan Irish Open has a rich history of winners, dating back to 1927, the year it was first played. In all, 13 Major Champions have triumphed in the event. They are: George Duncan (1927), Alf Padgham (1932), Reg Whitcombe (1936), Bobby Locke (1938), Fred Daly (1946), Ben Crenshaw (1976), Hubert Green (1977), Seve Ballesteros (1983, 85, 86), Bernhard Langer (1984, 87, 94), Ian Woosnam (1988, 89), José Maria Olazábal (1990),  Nick Faldo (1991-93) and Michael Campbell (2003).

Sergio Garcia claimed his first European Tour victory in 1999 at Druids Glen in just his fourth event as a professional, aged 19 and 176 days – the fourth youngest winner in European Tour history.

Bernhard Langer (1984), Seve Ballesteros (1986), Nick Faldo (1992) and Colin Montgomerie  (1996-97) all had the honour of winning the Nissan Irish Open and went on to claim The European Tour Order of Merit in the same season.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1BJÖRN, ThomasDEN18-5
2CASEY, PaulENG18-4
3CLARKE, DarrenNIR18-3
4HEDBLOM, PeterSWE18-2
T5WALL, AnthonyENG18-1
T5DREDGE, BradleyWAL18-1
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.