Friday, 19 March 2010

In the three years the tournament has been part of The European Tour International Schedule, all three winners have made the Aa St Omer Open their first European Tour victory – Brett Rumford (2003), José-Filipe Lima (2004) and Joakim Bäckström (2005).

Bäckström, in defeating Paul Dwyer via a play-off, became the last rookie to win on The European Tour International Schedule. Along with Gonzalo-Fernandez-Castaño (The KLM Open), were both winners to graduate from the 2004 European Tour Qualifying School.

The 2002 championship saw history made on the European Challenge Tour, with Nicolas Vanhootegem claiming the title. After 36 holes, the Belgian made the halfway cut on the mark, with a score of 145 (+3). He then played the final two rounds in ten under par, closing with a course record 65 (-6), which still stands. His 72 hole total of 277 (-7) was enough for a four shot victory over Gustavo Rojas and Lee S James. Vanhootegem went into the record books as the first player to win a Challenge Tour event after making the cut on the cut score.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
T2NYSTRÖM, HenrikSWE18-9
T2MARITZ, MartinRSA18-9
T4HUGO, JeanRSA18-8
T6DIXON, DavidENG18-7
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.