Friday, 19 March 2010

• The World Cup began in 1953 and was known as the Canada Cup. The first winners were Robert de Vicenzo and Antonio Cerda of Argentina.

• The United States have been the most successful nation, with 23 victories. South Africa are next with five, then Australia and Spain follow with four each. In all, 13 different nations have won the World Cup.

• Arnold Palmer (1960, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67) and Jack Nicklaus (1963, 64, 66, 67, 71, 73) with six hold the record for the most wins by a single player.

• Nicklaus and Palmer (1963, 64, 66, 67) and Davis Love III and Fred Couples (1992, 93, 94, 95) hold the record for the most wins by the same partnership, with four each.

• There have been only two play-offs  in the history of the World Cup. In 1987 Wales beat Scotland and in 2001 South Africa beat Denmark, New Zealand and the United States.

• Since the tournament became a WGC event in 2000, South Africa are the only country to win twice, in 2001 (Ernie Els and Retief Goosen) and 2003 (Trevor Immelman and Rory Sabbatini).

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.