Saturday, 25 November 2006

• Gulf Harbour Country Club will be staging  its second  Blue Chip New Zealand Open, following Niclas Fasth’s victory in 2005.

• The Championship was first played in 1907, won by New Zealand amateur A D S Duncan and this year’s Championship will be the 90th h staging of the event.

• Fasth’s victory in 2005 was only the second by a European, following Ronan Rafferty in 1987

• There are four European Tour Members in the field who have won the event. They are: Peter Fowler (1993), Peter O’Malley (1995), Michael Campbell (2000) and Terry Price (2004)

• The record for the most victories belongs to Australian Peter Thomson, with nine (1950-1951-1953-1955-1959-1960-1961-1965-1971). Another Australian, Kel Nagle and  New Zealand’s Andy Shaw, have both won the title seven times.


Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.