Friday, 06 November 2009

• The UBS Hong Kong Open will be the 51st staging of the event. The tournament was first played in 1959 and won by Lu Liang-huan.

• The event has a wonderfully rich history of former winners, including nine Major Champions, who have won 25 Major Championships between them. They are: Peter Thomson (1960, 65, 67), Kel Nagle (1961), Orville Moody (1971), Greg Norman (1979, 83), Ian Woosnam (1987), Bernhard Langer (1991), Tom Watson (1992), José Maria Olazábal (2002) and Padraig Harrington (2004).

• The previous 50 editions of the UBS Hong Kong Open have produced 41 different champions from 15 different countries.

• History was created in the 2003 UBS Hong Kong when  Shih-kai Lo became the youngest player to compete in a European Tour event, aged just 13 and 280 days, beating the then record set by Sergio Garcia of 15 and 45 days in the 1995 Turespaña Open Mediterrania. Land of Valencia.

• History was also created in the last UBS Hong Kong Open when Jason Hak became the .youngest player to make a cut in a European Tour event, aged 14 and 304 days. He beat the previous record of Garcia in the aforementioned tournament.

• Defending champion, Lin Wen-tang will attempt to become only the second player in the history of the event to make a successful defence of the title, following Hsieh Yung-yo in 1963-64. Lin became only the second player from Taiwan to win on The European Tour, following Yeh We-tze at the 2000 Malaysian Open.

Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.