Tournament History

Spain’s Pablo Martin made European Tour history at the 2010 season-opening Alfred Dunhill Championship by becoming the first player to win a title as an amateur and a professional. Two years after he clinched the Estoril Open de Portugal – becoming the European Tour’s first amateur champion – Martin beat Charl Schwartzel by a shot at Leopard Creek. A fine 63 in the second round set Martin on course for victory, and he remained in pole position heading into the final day. Ernie Els was tied second at the start of the fourth round and looked to be Martin’s main challenger – not to mention the home crowd’s favourite – but a disastrous 77 on the final day meant he plummeted into a tie for 17th place. Els won the first edition of the tournament in 1995 and has won twice more since then, in 1999 and 2006 (December 2005).

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund
2014Nov 28
2013Dec 13
2011Nov 17
2011Dec 09
2010Dec 10
2009Dec 11
2008Dec 06
2007Dec 07
2006Dec 08
2005Dec 09
2004Jan 22
2003Jan 16
2002Jan 17
2001Jan 18
2000Jan 13
1999Jan 14
1998Feb 12
1997Feb 20
1996Feb 15
1995Feb 16



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.