Sunday, 23 May 2010
The moment of triumph  (Getty Images)
The moment of triumph (Getty Images)




• His second European Tour International Schedule victory in his 216th European Tour event.

• His first European Tour victory since the 2004 Celtic Manor Wales Open – a gap of five years and 351 days

• In that time has played in 194 European Tour events between victories

• This victory is his best European Tour performance since he was second in this Championship in 2006

• This victory comes in his seventh appearance in the Championship

• This victory beats his previous best  performance in the Championship of second in 2006

• Playing on a sponsor’s invitation, he becomes the first invitee to win the BMW PGA Championship

• Began the final round seven shots behind Chris Wood on one under par. This breaks the Championship record for the biggest final round winning comeback, beating the six of Maurice Bembridge in 1974

• His seven stroke deficit is also the biggest final day comeback of the 2010 season, beating the five shots of Richie Ramsay in the South African Open Championship


• Moves to €787,927 in the Race to Dubai. (Was 153rd in the Race to Dubai before the BMW PGA Championship)

• Regained his European Tour exemption at the 2009 European Tour Qualifying School, after winning the event

• Becomes the third winner of the European Tour Qualifying School to win the Championship, following Andrew Oldcorn and José Maria Olazábal

• Second 2009 European Tour Qualifying School graduate to win on the 2010 season, following Fredrik Andersson Hed at the BMW Italian Open

• The 32nd player to win on The European Tour the year after graduating from the European Tour Qualifying School

• Gains a three year exemption for The Open Championship

• Gains a place in the WGC – Bridgestone Invitational and WGC – HSBC Champions

• Gains a five year European Tour exemption until the end of the 2015 season

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €750,000

• Moves over €4 million in European Tour Career Earnings

• The ninth different English winner of the Championship since 1972

• The 252nd English victory  in European Tour history

• Third English win of the 2010 season. They are: Ian Poulter (WGC – Accenture Match Play), James Morrison (Madeira Islands Open BPI – Portugal) and Simon Khan  (BMW PGA Championship)

• Second win as a professional





Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1KHAN, SimonENG18-6
4GALLACHER, StephenSCO18-4
5WILLETT, DannyENG18-3
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.