• The 2010 edition  will be the 56th playing of the Championship, dating back to 1955.  Wentworth Club, which has staged the event every year since 1984, will be hosting the tournament for the 30th time in the Club’s history. Before 1984, the West Course was used between 1972-74.

• There have been 44 different winners of the Championship from 12 different nations.

• The Championship has produced a wonderful roll of honour, including eight Major Champions. Between them they have claimed 27 Majors. They are: Tony Jacklin (1972, 1982), Arnold Palmer (1975), Sir Nick Faldo (1978, 1980, 1981, 1989), Seve Ballesteros (1983, 1991), Bernhard Langer (1987, 1993, 1995), Ian Woosnam (1988, 1997), José Maria Olazábal (1994) and Angel Cabrera (2005).

• Bernard Gallacher holds the distinction of being the youngest player to win the Championship, aged 20 years and 197 days in 1969. Another Ryder Cup Captain, Dai Rees, is the oldest winner, at 46 years and ten days in 1959.




European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.