Wednesday, 23 June 2010


• The Alstom Open de France not only the oldest National Open Championship on Continental Europe, dating back to 1906, but also the richest, with a prize fund of €3,000,000.

• History was created in the 1986 Open de France when Seve Ballesteros became the first player to successfully defend a European Tour title and win both years  in a wire-to-wire fashion, in 1985 and 1986.

• The 2008 Champion, Pablo Larrazabal had to qualify to play in the event  and  became the first qualifier to win the Alstom Open de France and just the then seventh qualifier in the history of The European Tour to win. His wire-to-wire triumph was the first by a rookie in this fashion since Henrik Stenson at the 2001 Benson and Hedges International Open.

• The Alstom Open de France is used to high profile players winning the Championship. No less than 18 Major Champions have their name etched on the roll of honour. The field assembled for the 2010 Championship includes no fewer than 107 players who have won on The European Tour.

• Defending champion, Martin Kaymer is trying to become just the second German, following Bernhard Langer (1981-82 German Open and 1985-86 German Open) to successfully defend a European Tour title. Should Kaymer win again, he would become the 30th different player to win the same event in back-to-back years in European Tour history.


Get Adobe Flash player

R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.