Tournament History

After an absence of six years the season’s final Major Championship, the US PGA Championship, returns to the testing Whistling Straits course in Kohler, Wisconsin, the scene of Vijay Singh’s third Major win in 2004 where the Fijian beat Americans Justin Leonard and Chris DiMarco in a three hole play-off. In a decade’s time, the eyes of the world of golf will once again focus on Whistling Straits when it plays host to The 2020 Ryder Cup but come this August, the interest will centre around the defending champion Y E Yang of Korea who made golfing history at Hazeltine in Minnesota a year ago. Going into the final round two shots adrift of Tiger Woods, not many people gave the Korean, or anyone else for that matter, any chance considering the fact that the other 14 times the World Number One had taken a lead into the final round of a Major Championship, he had triumphed. But Yang was not to be daunted by statistics and when European hopes faded after Padraig Harrington’s double trip into the water at the eighth, Yang took up the challenge of going head to head with the great man. Undaunted, his 70, to Woods’ 75, was enough for a three shot victory.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner & Prize Fund
2011Aug 11
2010Aug 12
2009Aug 13
2008Aug 07
2007Aug 09
2006Aug 17
2005Aug 11
2004Aug 12
2003Aug 14
2002Aug 15
2001Aug 16
2000Aug 17
1999Aug 12



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.