Tournament History

After four years at the Kennemer Golf and Country Club in Zandvoort, The KLM Open returns this year to the Hilversumsche Golf Club in Hilversum which has played host to the tournament on 15 occasions since the birth of The European Tour in 1972. The last time in Hilversum was in 2005 when Spain’s Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño claimed the first of his four European Tour titles while the man who will defend the title this year having triumphed at Kennemer 12 months ago, will be England’s Simon Dyson. Dyson, in fact, will be aiming for his third triumph in The Netherlands, having also won the tournament in 2006 and, on both occasions, his victories came after play-offs. Four years ago an 18 foot birdie putt on the first extra hole ended the hopes of Australian Richard Green, while 12 months ago, a similar stroke brought the curtain down on the respective title claims of Ireland’s Peter Lawrie and Peter Hedblom of Sweden who had matched Dyson’s 15 under par total of 265. After a holiday before the event, Dyson vowed to knuckle down, giving up caffeine amongst other things and sticking to drinking only water and orange juice for the rest of the season. It certainly worked.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner & Prize Fund
2011Sep 08
  • €1,800,000
2010Sep 09
2009Aug 20
2008Aug 21
2007Aug 23
2006Aug 10
2005Jun 09
2004Aug 05
2003Oct 09
2002Jul 25
2001Jul 26
2000Jul 27
1999Jul 22
1998Jul 23
1997Jul 24
1996Jul 25
1995Jul 27
1994Jul 21
1993Jul 22
1992Jul 23
1991Jul 25
1990Jul 26
1989Jul 27
1988Jul 21
1987Jul 23
1986Jul 24
1985Jul 25
1984Jul 26
1983Aug 04
1982Aug 05
1981Jul 23
1980Jul 24
1979Jul 26
1978Jul 21
1977Aug 11
1976Aug 05
1975Aug 07
1974Aug 08
1973Aug 08
1972Aug 10



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.