Tournament History

The season-ending event on The European Tour International Schedule, where the winner of The 2010 Race to Dubai will be crowned, will once again take place at Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai. There is little doubt that the inaugural event last November was a huge success for everyone connected with The European Tour, a factor recognised early in 2010 when the tournament was voted ‘Best Professional Tournament of 2009 ’ in the Middle East Golfer Awards. On the course, the week belonged quite simply to one man – England’s Lee Westwood – who produced a truly stunning display. Four rounds in the 60s, including a final round course record eight under par 64, saw the Englishman not only win the Dubai World Championship by a whopping six shot margin but also leapfrog Rory McIlroy to win the inaugural Race to Dubai with record single season earnings in European Tour history of €4,237,762. McIlroy battled hard throughout the week and his brave showing saw him finish third in the tournament to guarantee himself second place in The Race to Dubai. Meanwhile second place in the tournament went to Westwood’s compatriot Ross McGowan, two shots clear of McIlroy, who carried on the form which saw him win the Madrid Masters a month earlier.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner & Prize Fund
2011Dec 08
2010Nov 25
2009Nov 19

Get Adobe Flash player


Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1KARLSSON, RobertSWE18-14
T3QUIROS, AlvaroESP18-13
5MCILROY, RoryNIR18-12
T6CASEY, PaulENG18-11
T6MOLINARI, FrancescoITA18-11
8JAIDEE, ThongchaiTHA18-9
T9NOH, Seung-yulKOR18-8

Dubai World Championship presented by DP World Course Guide

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.