• The Alfred Dunhill Championship made history in 1995 when it became the first European Tour event to be co-sanctioned with another Tour. The championship was won by Ernie Els.

• The championship has a history of producing debut winners. In the previous 15 years, eight have entered the winners circle for the first time on The European Tour. They are: Sven Strüver (1996), Anthony Wall (2000), Adam Scott (2001), Justin Rose (2002), Mark Foster (2003), Marcel Siem (2004),  Charl Schwartzel (2005) and Alvaro Quiros (2007).

• In 2003, for only the second time in European Tour history, six players were involved in a play-off. Mark Foster was the player who prevailed, beating Anders Hansen, Trevor Immelman, Paul Lawrie, Doug McGuigan and Bradford Vaughan. The first time this occurred was the 1990 Vino Verde Atlantic Open.

• European Tour history was made in the 2007 tournament, when Alvaro Quiros became the first player to win a European Tour event in his first event as a full Member, having graduated from the 2006 European Tour Qualifying School.



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.