Tournament History

A week after winning the Africa Open, Charl Schwartzel claimed his fifth European Tour title at the Joburg Open, winning convincingly by a whopping six shots at Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club. Another South African, Keith Horne, shared second place with Darren Clarke on 17 under overall, way behind Schwartzel who put on a masterclass with rounds of 63, 68, 64 and 66. The first prize of €206,050 cemented Schwartzel’s place at the top of The Race to Dubai. The tournament has been part of the European Tour International Schedule since 2007 with Argentina’s Ariel Canete winning the inaugural event, followed by Richard Sterne and Anders Hansen. It has taken place at Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club every year.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund
2014Feb 06
  • €1,300,000
2013Feb 07
2012Jan 12
2011Jan 13
2010Jan 14
2009Jan 08
2008Jan 10
2007Jan 11



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.