Tournament History

The US Open Championship returns to Congressional Country Club for the first time since Ernie Els captuerd the title in 1997, holding off the challenge of Colin Montgomerie by one stroke. Last year Graeme McDowell became the first Briton in 40 years to win the coveted Major Championship when he triumphed at Pebble Beach. The Northern Irishman held off the challenge of Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods and Ernie Els to capture his first major Championship. First played in 1895, the US Open is visiting Congressional for only the third time, following previous Championships in 1964 and 1997. Recent European Tour members to have captured the title include Eles (1994, 19970, Retief Goosen (2001, 2004), Michael Campbell (2005), Angel Cabrera (2007) and McDowell (2010). Is the only Major Championship not to go immediately to a play-off should two or more players be tied after 72 holes, with the outcome instead being decided by an 18-hole play-off the following day. This last occurred in 2008 when Tiger Woods defeated Rocco Mediate at Torrey Pines.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner & Prize Fund
2012Jun 14
2011Jun 16
2010Jun 17
2009Jun 18
2008Jun 12
2007Jun 14
2006Jun 15
2005Jun 16
2004Jun 17
2003Jun 12
2002Jun 13
2001Jun 14
2000Jun 15
1999Jun 17
1998Jun 18
1997Jun 12
1996Jun 13
1995Jun 15
1994Jun 16
1993Jun 17
1992Jun 18
1991Jun 13
1990Jun 14
1989Jun 15
1988Jun 16
1987Jun 16
1986Jun 12
1985Jun 13
1984Jun 14
1983Jun 16
1982Jun 17
1981Jun 18
1980Jun 12
1979Jun 14
1978Jun 15
1977Jun 16
1976Jun 17
1975Jun 19
1974Jun 13
1973Jun 14
1972Jun 17



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.