·         Shane Lowry’s victory as an amateur  in  the Irish Open in 2009 came on his European Tour debut. He was the first player to achieve this feat since Ben Curtis at The Open Championship in 2003.

Should Darren Clarke win the Irish Open he would join Sir Nick Faldo (1992) and Padraig Harrington (2007) as players to win the Irish Open and Open Championship in the same year.


·         Lowry became the third amateur to win in European Tour history, following Pablo Martin (2003 Open de Portugal) and Danny Lee (2009 Johnnie Walker Classic)


·         The Irish Open has a rich history of winners, dating back to 1927, the year it was first played. In all, 14 Major Champions have triumphed in the event. They are: George Duncan (1927), Alf Padgham (1932), Reg Whitcombe (1936), Bobby Locke (1938), Fred Daly (1946), Ben Crenshaw (1976), Hubert Green (1977), Seve Ballesteros (1983, 85, 86), Bernhard Langer (1984, 87, 94), Ian Woosnam (1988, 89), José Maria Olazábal (1990),  Sir Nick Faldo (1991-93), Michael Campbell (2003) and Padraig Harrington (2007).


·         With Lowrry’s extra-time victory over Robert Rock in 2009, the  Irish Open extended the record for most European Tour play-offs – a total of 11 since The European Tour’s first season in 1972.


·         When winning the 1992 and 1993 Irish Open, Sir Nick Faldo created European Tour history by becoming the only player to win the same event in consecutive years, via consecutive play-offs. In 1992 he beat Wayne Westner and 12 months later defeated José Maria Olazábal.


·         Thomas Björn’s 78 in the first round of the 2006 Irish Open matched  the highest first round score by a winner in European Tour history. This was first established by George Burns at another Irish tournament, the 1975 Kerrygold International.


·         Having triumphed in 2010, at Killarney’s Killeen Course, Ross Fisher will be hoping to continue the trend of English winners at this venue. Sir Nick Faldo won here in 1992 and 1993.  


Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1DYSON, SimonENG18-15
2GREEN, RichardAUS18-14
3GALLACHER, StephenSCO18-12
T5GARRIDO, IgnacioESP18-10
T5KALEKA, AlexandreFRA18-10
T5HANSEN, SorenDEN18-10
T8GAGLI, LorenzoITA18-9
T8LAWRIE, PeterIRL18-9
T8HOWELL, DavidENG18-9


Irish Open presented by Discover Ireland Course Guide

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.