Tournament History

In December 2011 Ernie Els held off the challenge of Retief Goosen to capture the South African Open Championship for the fifth time in the 100th staging of the event at Durban Country Club. Richie Ramsay won his first European Tour title at the 2010 South African Open Championship, beating Shiv Kapur in a play-off at Pearl Valley Golf Estates, where the championship had been since 2008. Ramsay’s triumph broke the eight-year stranglehold South Africans had on the tournament as it had had a home winner every year since 2002. Richard Sterne was the champion in 2009 and before him were James Kingston, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen, Tim Clark (twice, in 2005 and 2002) and Trevor Immelman (2003 and 2004).

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner & Prize Fund
2011Nov 24
2011Dec 16
2010Dec 17
2009Dec 18
2008Dec 13
2007Dec 14
2006Dec 15
2005Jan 20
2004Jan 15
2003Jan 09
2002Jan 10
2001Jan 25
2000Jan 20
1999Jan 21
1998Feb 05
1997Feb 06



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.