• The Maybank Malaysian Open became part of The European Tour International Schedule in 1999 and was the first co-sanctioned event between The European and Asian Tours. It was played at the Saujana Golf and Country Club and won by American Gerry Norquist.

•  Should defending champion, Matteo Manassero win for a second consecutive season, he will have claimed all three of his European Tour wins before his 19th birthday. This would mean he holds the record for being the youngest, second youngest and fifth youngest winner in European Tour history.

• The Maybank Malaysian Open is one of only two European Tour events to have witnessed two different teenage winners. In 2010 Noh Seung-yul won in Malaysia, aged 18 years and 213 days. Twelve months later, Manassero won aged 17 years and 363 days. The first event to achieve this feat was the Dutch Open which saw Seve Ballesteros in 1976 and Paul Way in 1982 win. They were aged 19 years and 121 days and 19 years and 149 days respectively.

• Thongchai Jaidee will be trying to continue his wonderful form in the event. He was victorious in 2004 and 2005, was second in 2006 and tied seventh in 2001. Should he win, he would join Ernie Els and Miguel Angel Jiménez for the most European Tour victories on Asian soil, with five.

• Since 1999, seven of the 13 years have been won by players claiming their maiden European Tour International Schedule victory. They are: Gerry Norquist (1999), Yeh Wei-tze (2000), Alastair Forsyth (2002),  Thongchai Jaidee (2004), Charlie Wi (2006), Anthony Kang (2009) and  Noh Seung-yul (2010).




European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.