Tournament History

The Open de Espana is one of the oldest tournaments in golf, dating back to 1912, and was in fact the first tournament ever played on The European Tour in April 1972. This year’s staging will be the 40thanniversary of that first event, and will no doubt throw up the kind of excitement that has thrilled golf fans for four decades. Last year Thomas Aiken completed an emotional week for all concerned, lifting the trophy on Sunday after a two shot victory over Denmark’s Anders Hansen, and was quick to dedicate his win to Spanish golfing legend Seve Ballesteros who had died earlier in the week.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund
2016Apr 14
2015May 14
2014May 15
2013Apr 18
2012May 03
2011May 05
2010Apr 29
2009Apr 30
2008May 01
2007Apr 26
2006Apr 27
2005Apr 14
2004Apr 22
2003Apr 24
2002Apr 25
2001Apr 19
2000Apr 28
1999Apr 22
1998Apr 23
1997Apr 24
1996May 09
1995May 18
1994May 12
1993May 13
1992May 14
1991May 09
1990Apr 26
1989Apr 27
1988May 12
1987May 14
1986May 15
1985Oct 24
1984Oct 11
1983Oct 20
1982Sep 30
1981Oct 01
1980May 01
1979Apr 19
1978Apr 19
1977Apr 13
1976Apr 21
1975Apr 16
1974Apr 17
1973Apr 11
1972Apr 12

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1MOLINARI, FrancescoITA18-8
T2CAÑIZARES, AlejandroESP18-5
T5OLESEN, ThorbjørnDEN18-3
T7BRIER, MarkusAUT18-2
T7MAYBIN, GarethNIR18-2
T7STORM, GraemeENG18-2


Reale Seguros Open de España Course Guide

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.