• When Des Smyth won the 2001 Madeira Islands Open - Portugal  he created European Tour history by becoming the oldest winner of a European Tour event, aged 48 years  and 34 days, beating the record of Neil Coles, who was 48 years and 14 days, in winning the 1982 Sanyo Open.

• Estanislao Goya became the youngest Argentine to win on The European Tour International Schedule, when he triumphed in 2009. He was 20 years and 294 days.

• There are six past winners of the Madeira Islands Open – Portugal who won the title over the Santo da Serra course and are playing this week. They are: Santiago Luna (1995), Jarmo Sandelin (1996), Niclas Fasth (2000), Bradley Dredge (2003), Daniel Vancsik (2007) and Alastair Forsyth (2008).

• On his way to victory in 2003, Bradley Dredge shot the lowest round in the history of the tournament – a 12 under par score of 60 in the third round. He eventually won by eight shots- the largest winning margin in the event’s history.

• Madeira has been a happy hunting ground for Sweden, having recorded five victories in the event. They are: Mats Lanner (1994, 98), Jarmo Sandelin (1996), Niclas Fasth (2000) and Christopher Hanell (2004). Only the Nordea Masters, with six wins has witnessed more Swedish victories in the same European Tour tournament.

•  Since the event began in 1993 there have been eight players claim their maiden European Tour victory here. They are: Santiago Luna (1995), Pedro Linhart (1999), Niclas Fasth (2000), Bradley Dredge (2003), Christopher Hanell (2004), Daniel Vancsik (2007), Estanislao Goya (2009) and James Morrison (2010).




European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.