Tournament History

The Spanish capital has hosted this event the previous four seasons and in a short space of time it has thrown up some particularly exciting finishes, none more so than 2011, when England’s Lee Slattery took his maiden title on The European Tour. After a tight final round, the Englishman had looked certain of victory heading up the par-5 last, but daunted by the water down the right hand side and the pressure of victory, the 2004 Challenge Tour Number One almost conspired to give away his lead when finding sand and then the hazard down the last. In the end a two-putt double would prove enough to take the title by one from Italy’s Lorenzo Gagli. Slattery joins an esteemed roll of honour that includes 2011 Race to Dubai Champion Luke Donald and last season’s Masters winner Charl Schwartzel, as well as compatriot and fellow first time winner, Ross McGowan.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund

Get Adobe Flash player

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.