Tournament History

With the launch of the Race to Dubai in 2009, the DP World Tour Championship (formerly Dubai World Championship) played over the Jumeirah Golf Estates’ Earth Course has quickly become a spectacular season-ending showpiece to The European Tour season.

In 2009 Lee Westwood became the first, and so far only, player to win both the final event as well as The Race to Dubai with a superb performance under the utmost of pressure to hold off Rory McIlroy. Since then both Robert Karlsson and Alvaro Quiros have taken the tournament spoils, while Martin Kaymer and last year Luke Donald won The Race to Dubai, with the Englishman making sporting history by becoming the first player to officially top the money lists in the same year on both the European and US PGA Tours.

In 2012 the stakes will be just as high with a US$ 8 million tournament prize purse up for grabs and a Race to Dubai bonus pool of US$3.75 million, awarded to the season’s top ten players.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund
2012Nov 22
2011Dec 08
2010Nov 25
2009Nov 19



European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.