Sunday, 24 March 2013
Kiradech Aphibarnrat  (Getty Images)
Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Getty Images)

• His first European Tour International Schedule victory in his 26th European Tour event.

• Moves into the top 90 of the Official World Golf Ranking from 170th.

• This victory beats his previous best European Tour performance of tied third in the 2010 Maybank Malaysian Open.

• Becomes the fifth first-time winner of the 2013 season. They are: Scott Jamieson (Nelson Mandela Championship presented ISPS Handa), Chris Wood (Commercial Bank Qatar Masters), Matt Kuchar (World Golf Championships – Accenture Match Play Championship), Dawie Van Der Walt (Tshwane Open) and Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Maybank Malaysian Open).

• His second consecutive top four finish on The European Tour following his fourth place finish in the Avantha Masters.

• Victory comes in his fourth appearance in the Maybank Malaysian Open.

• The third wire-to-wire winner of the 2013 season. He follows Richard Sterne (Joburg Open) and Tiger Woods (World Golf Championships – Cadillac Championship).

• The first wire-to-wire winner with no ties after any round since Branden Grace (2012 Alfred Dunhill Links Championship).

• Since the Maybank Malaysian Open became part of The European Tour in 1999, became the fourth wire-to-winner. He follows Alastair Forsyth (2002), Arjun Atwal (2003) and Thongchai Jaidee (2005).

• Becomes the first player from Thailand since Thongchai Jaidee (2012 ISPS Handa Wales Open) to win on The European Tour.

• Becomes the third Thai victory in the Maybank Malaysian Open since the event became part of The European Tour in 1999, following Thongchai Jaidee (2004-2005).

• Becomes the youngest winner on the 2013 European Tour to date, aged 23 years and 244 days.


• Joins Gerry Norquist (1999), Yeh Wei-tze (2000), Alastair Forsyth (2002), Thongchai Jaidee (2004), Charlie Wi (2006), Anthony Kang (2009) and Noh Seung-yul (2010), as players to make the Maybank Malaysian Open their first European Tour victory.

• Becomes the eighth Thai victory in European Tour history.

• Becomes the fourth different Thai to win on The European Tour. He follows Thongchai Jaidee, Chapchai Nirat and Thaworn Wiratchant.

• Gains a European Tour exemption until the end of the 2015 season.

• Gains a place in the 2013 WGC – HSBC Champions and 2014 Volvo Golf Champions.

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €350,410.

• His third victory as a professional.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1APHIBARNRAT, KiradechTHA18-13
2MOLINARI, EdoardoITA18-12
3HANSEN, AndersDEN18-11
R2D Fantasy

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.