• Defending champion, Raphaël Jacquelin  is aiming to become the first player to successfully defend the Open de España since the event first became part of The European Tour International Schedule in 1972. Indeed, the last player to win back-to-back titles was Max Faulkner in 1952-53. The only French player player to have won the same European Tour title in back-to-back years is Jean-Francois Remesy (2004-05 Open de France).

• The Open de España was the very first official European Tour event in 1972. Spain’s national open is one of only seven events that have been staged every season since 1972.. The events are: the Open de España, The Open Championship, Alstom Open de France, KLM Open, BMW PGA Championship, Omega European Masters and Italian Open.

• Low scoring was the order of the week in 2003 Open de España  at the Golf Costa Adeje Tenerife with the lowest 36 hole cut  in European Tour history at 138 (-6). This record was since matched at the 2005 TCL Classic.

• Another piece of history was created in 2003. Spanish amateur, Pablo Martin Benavides, then 17 years and six days became the youngest player to lead or share the lead in a European Tour event after a round. He was one of six players to jointly hold the lead after 54 holes. He eventually finished in a tie for 22nd.  This is a record he still holds.

• The 2014 edition will be the 89th time the tournament has been staged in all, dating back originally to 1912.

• When Raphaël Jacquelin won the 2013 event at the ninth hole of a sudden-death, defeating Felipe Aguilar and Max Kieffer, this equalled The European Tour record for the longest play-off. This matched the 1989 KLM Open, in which José Maria Olazábal beat Roger Chapman and Ronan Rafferty.

• The Stadium Course at PGA Catalunya Resort is staging the Open de España  for the third time in all. The previous winners were Brian Davis (2000) and Thomas Levet (2009). Other course winners competing are: Thomas Björn (1999 Subaru Sarazen World Open), Simon Khan (2009 European Tour Qualifying School Final Stage), Simon Wakefield (2010 European Tour Qualifying School Final Stage) and Carlos Del Moral (2013 European Tour Qualifying School Final Stage).

• Miguel Angel Jiménez is making his  27th career start in the Open de España and 626th career appearance on The European Tour. His very first European Tour tournament was his national open in 1983. He has recorded four top ten finishes from those previous 26. His best performance was second in 1999.

•  Since The European Tour’s first season, only four Spanish players have won – Antonio Garrido (1972 – very first European Tour event), Seve Ballesteros (1981, 1985 and 1995), Sergio Garcia (2002) and Alavro Quiros (2010).

• The 2002 champion, Sergio Garcia will attempt to continue his streak in the Open de España of making the 36 hole cut every time he has played; six times as a professional and three as an amateur.

Get Adobe Flash player


Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1JIMÉNEZ, Miguel AngelESP18-4
T2GREEN, RichardAUS18-4
T2PIETERS, ThomasBEL18-4
4LUITEN, JoostNED18-3
T5KIEFFER, MaximilianGER18-2
T5RAMSAY, RichieSCO18-2
T7CAÑIZARES, AlejandroESP18-1
T7MAYBIN, GarethNIR18-1
T7AGUILAR, FelipeCHI18-1

Open de España Course Guide

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.