• Open Champion, Rory McIlroy will be looking to win his second US PGA Championship crown, following his triumph in 2012. Should he win he would become the first player since another Irishman, Padraig Harrington to win The Open Championship and US PGA Championship in the same season. Harrington achieved the feat in 2008.

• Should McIlroy emulate Harrington, the man from Northern Ireland would be the first player since Padraig Harrington in 2008 to win consecutive Major Championships.

• Keegan Bradley won the 2011 US PGA Championship in his first appearance in a Major Championship. He was the first player to win a Major Championship in their first appearance since Ben Curtis at the 2003 Open Championship.

• Should Jason Dufner make a successful defence of his title he would become only the second player behind Tiger Woods (1999-2000 and 2006-2007), to win in back-to-back years since the event became a stroke play contest in 1958.

• Valhalla Golf Club will be hosting its third US PGA Championship. In 1996 Mark Brooks beat Kenny Perry and four years later in 2000 Tiger Woods beat Bob May in a play-off. The Kentucky course also held the 2008 Ryder Cup.

• When Tiger Woods defeated Bob May in a play-off in 2000, the duo set a US PGA Championship record for the lowest returned 72 hole total in relation to par at 18 under. (Woods repeated his 18 under figure when winning again in 2006).

• In that same event, José Maria Olazábal shot a Championship-equalling round of 63 on day three. The Spanish player became the seventh player in US PGA Championship history to record a score of 63.

• Should a European Tour Member win the US PGA Championship, it would be their fifth triumph since 2008. The winners were: Padraig Harrington (2008), Y E Yang (2009), Martin Kaymer (2010) and Rory McIlroy (2012).

• There are 51 European Tour Members competing in the US PGA Championship. There are four of the 51 making their US PGA Championship debut. They are: Victor Dubuisson, Tommy Fleetwood, Alexander Levy and Fabrizio Zanotti.

• There are nine European Tour Members who competed in the 2000 US PGA Championship. They are: Thomas Björn, Angel Cabrera, Darren Clarke, Ernie Els, Sergio Garcia, Padraig Harrington, Miguel Angel Jiménez, Colin Montgomerie and Lee Westwood. Of those nine the only survivors from Valhalla’s first US PGA Championship in 1996 were Els, Jiménez and Montgomerie




European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • UPS
  • Rolex
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2015. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.