Sunday, 04 October 2015
Thorbjørn Olesen  (Getty Images)
Thorbjørn Olesen (Getty Images)


• His third European Tour International Schedule victory in his 130th European Tour event.

• Moves to 883,472 points in The Race to Dubai.

• Moves to 25th in The Race to Dubai rankings.

• Moves into the top 75 in the Official World Golf Ranking.

• His first European Tour victory since the 2014 ISPS HANDA Perth International - a gap of 334 days between European Tour victories.

• He played 24 European Tour events between victories.

• His best finish from those 24 events was second in the 2015 AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open.

• This victory beats his previous best 2015 European Tour finish of second in the 2015 AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open. (Has made the cut in six of his 19 European Tour stroke play events during the 2015 season).

• At 25 years and 293 days, he becomes the youngest Dane to win their first three European Tour titles, beating the record of Thomas Bjørn, who was 27 years and 75 days when he won his third title at the 1998 Peugeot Open de Espana.

• Becomes the first Dane to win the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

• Becomes the 13th player to win the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

• Becomes the third Dane to win a European Tour event in Scotland, following Søren Kjeldsen at The Diageo Championship at Gleneagles in 2003 and Thomas Bjørn at the 1996 Scottish Open and 2011 Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles.

• Led by three shots going into the final round. Maintains his 100 per cent record of winning when leading going into the final round. (Led by three strokes going into the final day of the 2012 Sicilian Open and the 2014 ISPS HANDA Perth International).

• Becomes the 22nd winner this season to win after leading going into the final round.

• Wins in his fifth appearance at the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

• Beats his previous best finish at the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship of second at the 2012 Championship.

• Wins in his 14th official European Tour event in Scotland. 


• This victory is the 32nd Danish win in European Tour history.

• Is the second Danish victory of the 2015 season along with Søren Kjeldsen who won the 2015 Dubai Duty Free Irish Open Hosted by the Rory Foundation.

• Becomes the fourth different Dane to record three or more European Tour victories (Bjørn, Kjeldsen, Anders Hansen)

• Gains a European Tour exemption until the end of the 2017 season.

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €708,171.

• Becomes the 16th European Tour victory on the 2015 European Tour by a former Challenge Tour player. They are: Branden Grace (Alfred Dunhill Championship and Commercial Bank Qatar Masters), Gary Stal (Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship), Richie Ramsay (Trophée Hassan II), James Morrison (Open de España), Byeong Hun An (BMW PGA Championship), Søren Kjeldsen (Dubai Duty Free Irish Open Hosted by the Rory Foundation), Alex Noren (Nordea Masters), Pablo Larrazábal (BMW International Open), Bernd Wiesberger (Alstom Open de France),  Roope Kakko (Madeira Islands Open – Portugal – BPI), David Horsey (Made in Denmark), Lee Slattery (M2M Russian Open and KLM Open) and Rikard Karlberg (72º OPEN D’ITALIA presented by DAMIANI).

• This is the 370th European Tour victory by a former Challenge Tour player.

• This is his fifth victory as a professional.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1OLESEN, ThorbjørnDEN18 R4-18
T2KOEPKA, BrooksUSA18 R4-16
T2STROUD, ChrisUSA18 R4-16
T4WOOD, ChrisENG18 R4-15
T4LAGERGREN, JoakimSWE18 R4-15

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Titleist

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.