Wednesday, 03 February 2016
Official unveiling of the Maybank Championship Malaysia Trophy ()
Official unveiling of the Maybank Championship Malaysia Trophy ()

Related Content

  • Trophy for the Maybank Championship Malaysia
  • Darren Clarke and Jeev Milkha Singh
  • Darren Clarke
  • A good first day for European team Captain Darren Clarke at the EURASIA Cup presented by DRB-HICOM
  • Prime Minister of Malaysia Dato' Nazib Razak presents the EurAsia Cup to Darren Clarke
  • Darren Clarke
Maybank today unveiled the specially-commissioned Maybank Championship Malaysia Trophy at a special press event held at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur. 

The trophy, which was conceptualised by Maybank and created by the Royal Selangor, is a modern sculptural art form of the ‘Tiger’, an eminent symbol of Maybank. Weighing nearly five kilos and measuring 550mm x 340mm, the trophy is crafted out of pewter on a wooden base.

Officiating the ceremony was Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor, the Chairman of Maybank. Also present was Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon, Chairman of Royal Selangor International Sdn Bhd.

“The Tiger is a notable brand mark of Maybank and a symbol of Malaysian national pride. With the trophy we aim to illustrate the best of the Maybank Championship Malaysia – ‘courageous, creative and collaborative’ – whilst playing our role in nurturing the pursuit of professional excellence in the game of golf, now across ASEAN countries,” said Tan Sri Dato’ Megat.
“We are honoured to have been chosen as the official trophy maker for the Maybank Championship Malaysia, and together with Maybank, we have created a work of art. The intriguing design of the “Tiger” coupled with our intricate craftsmanship, have created a new milestone in the arena of golf trophies in Asia,” added Tan Sri Yong Poh Kon.

Crafted with meticulous attention to detail, Royal Selangor’s specially-designed trophies are recognised as accolades that befit the world’s top achievers. The company has previously crafted trophies for other high profile events such as the Formula 1 Grand Prix races in Singapore, Malaysia and China; the Shanghai ATP Masters 1000 and the inaugural WTA Wuhan Open 2014 tennis tournaments.

Following the unveiling of the trophy, Tan Sri Dato’ Megat also announced the participation of the 2016 EURASIA CUP Captains, Darren Clarke and Jeev Milkha Singh, along with Matthew Fitzpatrick and Victor Dubuisson who join a previously announced stellar cast which includes Martin Kaymer, Louis Oosthuizen, Danny Willett, Thongchai Jaidee and Kiradech Aphibarnrat.

“The presence of these four renowned players adds to the attraction of the field at the Maybank Championship Malaysia,” said Tan Sri Megat Zaharuddin. “I am pleased that so far, seven of the top 50 world-ranked players will be at the tournament.”

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1FRASER, MarcusAUS18-15
T2TABUENA, MiguelPHI18-13
T2LEE, SoominKOR18-13
T4QUESNE, JulienFRA18-12
T6BLAND, RichardENG18-11

European Tour Partners

  • BMW
  • Emirates
  • Titleist
  • Rolex

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2017. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.