Tournament History


The Italian Open boasts a long history of champions who have ennobled its roster, and others who brought prestige to the tournament despite not winning.

It is hard to imagine, 90 years on, that the first Italian Open was played by three distinguished gentlemen wearing suits. William H. Jolly and Luigi Prette, in that distant September day of 1925, hopped on the first tee and took off their jackets; but Francesco Pasquali simply buttoned his up before hitting his first shot. He completed the 36 holes in 154 shots – one better than Jolly.

The second edition, which was attended by the most renowned professionals of the era, was won by 18 year old Frenchman August Boyer, who would go on to establish a record of four victories (in 1926, 1929, 1930, 1931) – a feat which was later emulated by Belgian Flory Van Donck. Boyer remains the youngest winner of the tournament, although since the tournament joined the European Tour in 1972, Francesco Molinari (aged 23 years and 180 days in 2006) is recognised as the event’s youngest winner.

Two other characters characterised the pre-war period, Percy Alliss and Senator Agnelli, Gianni’s grandfather, the founder of Fiat cars. Alliss became the tournament’s third winner in 1927, and added a second title in 1935. He was followed into the winners’ enclosure in 1958 by his son, Peter, making them the only father and son combination to have lifted the trophy. Senator Agnelli was a real pioneer, launching the first advertising campaign for golf tourism. To advertise the course that he had built in Sestrieres, he hired Henry Cotton, who had two Open Championship victories to his name, with the intention of attracting wealthy English clients. It had the desired effect, but World War II soon intervened.

After the resumption in 1947 in San Remo, home players enjoyed a period of dominance. Aldo Casera (1948) was followed into the winners’ circle by Ugo Grappasonni (1950-1954), and nine times Italian players finished second. Casera and Grappasonni were two of the "three Musketeers" who dominated the national scene at that time. The third, Alfonso Angelini, failed to claim the title, but finished second three times (in 1950, 1958, 1959).

After the 1960 edition, the tournament was suspended until 1971, when it moved to Garlenda Golf, where the winner was Ramon Sota – uncle of Severiano Ballesteros. Subsequently, some great champions rose to prominence, notably Billy Casper who in 1975 triumphed at Monticello at the ripe old age of 44 – he remains the oldest winner to this day. Other greats such as Tony Jacklin (1973), Peter Oosterhuis (1974) and Dale Hayes (1978) also etched their names on the trophy, whilst some stars of the future also announced their arrival by lifting the trophy, notably José Maria Cañizares (1981) and a young Bernhard Langer (1983).

There were two other titles for Italians, with Baldovino Dassù (Is Molas, 1976) and Massimo Mannelli (in 1980). Dassù’s vcitory was by eight shots – a tournament record which still stands to this day.

In 1988 in Monticello, Greg Norman added hios name to the rollcall of champions. Between rounds Norman found time to travel to Maranello to buy a Ferrari, returning to the course to claim victory over Craig Parry with a rousing finish. Norman was subsequently joined in the winners’ circle by his fellow Major Champions by Sandy Lyle (1984 and 1992) and Langer, who doubled his tally of titles in 1997.

At the turn of the century, the Italian Open became a launch pad for young talent, including a maiden European Tour title for Ian Poulter in 2000 (he won again in 2002).

In 2003, the Italian Golf Federation took over the reins of the event with its own organising committee and with a forward-looking agreement with the European Tour. Fittingly, the tournament was won the following year by Graeme McDowell, who would later go on to claim Major Championship and Ryder Cup glory. 

In 2006, Francesco Molinari claimed the seventh home victory, 26 years after the previous one.

In 2013, almost 30,000 spectators descended on Circolo Golf Torino La Mandria as Julien Quesne claimed his second European Tour title, so justifying the decision of Franco Chimenti, President of the Italian Golf Federation, to grant free admission in order to promote golf.

In 2014, the venue for the 71st edition was Circolo Golf Torino, a popular venue which drew even bigger crowds, with 34,500 turning out to witness a tournament won by South African Hennie Otto – whose first victory came first European Tour victory came at the same tournament in 2008.

Otto was succeeded as champion by Swede Rikard Karlberg, who upset the odds by defeating Martin Kaymer in a sudden death play-off at Golf Club Milano 12 months ago.

Past Winners

Tournament & Venue
Winner and Prize Fund
2016Sep 15
2015Sep 17
2014Aug 28
2013Sep 19
2012Sep 13
2011Jun 09
2010May 06
2009May 07
2008May 08
2007May 03
2006May 04
2005May 05
2004Apr 29
2003May 01
2002Oct 31
2001Nov 01
2000Oct 26
1999Apr 29
1998Apr 30
1997May 01
1996May 02
1995May 04
1994May 19
1993May 20
1992Apr 30
1991May 16
1990May 17
1989May 18
1988May 19
1987Apr 30
1986May 01
1985May 02
1984May 03
1983Apr 28
1982Apr 29
1981Apr 30
1980Apr 17
1979May 03
1978May 04
1977Apr 28
1976Oct 21
1975Oct 16
1974Oct 17
1973Apr 18
1972Oct 12

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
1MOLINARI, FrancescoITA18-22
2WILLETT, DannyENG18-21
T3ELVIRA, NachoESP18-18
T3PAISLEY, ChrisENG18-18
T5HORSEY, DavidENG18-16
T5BLAND, RichardENG18-16
T7CAÑIZARES, AlejandroESP18-15


Italian Open Course Guide

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • D P World
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton
  • Workday

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2019. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.