Tuesday, 06 February 2018
ISPS HANDA World Super 6 Perth tee markers  (European Tour)
ISPS HANDA World Super 6 Perth tee markers (European Tour)

The draw is out for the 2018 ISPS HANDA World Super 6 Perth as players get set for three rounds of stroke play, followed by a thrilling final day of 15 six-hole match play matches.

All 156 players will compete over the first two days, with a normal “top 65 and ties” cut after play on Friday. Those players will then play one more round of stroke play, hoping to secure one of the 24 knock-out places for Sunday’s shootout format. In the result of any ties after three days, a sudden-death play-off will decide who advances.

With that in mind, here’s a look at how the draw for Thursday’s opening round looks.

The opening shot of the ISPS HANDA World Super 6 Perth will be hit at 6.40am on Thursday morning by 48 year old Stephen Leaney. The veteran Australian has four European Tour wins and 14 worldwide victories to his name and will lead the tournament off alongside England's Richard McEvoy and fellow-Aussie Daniel Fox.

The marquee group of Thursday morning will see the defending champion Brett Rumford tee off with Andrew Johnston and Lee Westwood at 7.00am on the back nine. Rumford led the field after three rounds twelve months ago and remained undefeated in Sunday shootout to win his sixth European Tour title. Both Johnston and Westwood will be making their tournament debuts and hope to learn Rumford’s formula from last year around Lake Karrinyup CC.

Fresh off a top three finish in Malaysia, New Zealand’s Ryan Fox will get his tournament underway at 7.20am on the back nine with American David Lipsky and Australia’s Matthew Griffin for company on the first two days. Fox led the European Tour in driving distance in 2017, with an average tee shot of 318 yards and with the hard and fast conditions expected in Perth, keep a look out for Fox on any par fives this week.

Moving to the afternoon groupings, 2016 Masters champion Danny Willett joins UBS Hong Kong Open winner Wade Ormsby and four-time European Tour champion Thorbjorn Olesen on the first tee at midday. Willett is making his debut in Perth, while both Ormsby and Olesen competed twelve months ago, with the Australian falling in the quarter-finals on Sunday to eventual winner Brett Rumford. 

At 12.20pm on the first tee, Thailand’s Kiradech Aphibarnrat will set off, in hope of ticking off another country in which he has won on the European Tour. Currently, the 28 year old’s three European Tour victories have come in Malaysia, Scotland and China. He’ll be looking to add Australia to that list on Sunday night and will play his opening two rounds with locals Lucas Hebert and Adam Bland.

To see a full list of groups and tee times, click here.

Get Adobe Flash player

Tournament Leaderboard

Pos Player nameNatHolePar
T2HERBERT, LucasAUS18-10
T2OLESEN, ThorbjørnDEN18-10
T5PAPADATOS, DimitriosAUS18-8

European Tour Partners

  • Rolex
  • BMW
  • Callaway
  • Dubai Duty Free
  • Emirates
  • Hilton

Media Centre

Official Partner

Official Suppliers

This website is © The PGA European Tour 1997 - 2018. PGA European Tour, Wentworth Drive, Virginia Water, Surrey, GU25 4LX. Registered in England No. 1867610.
All rights reserved. No reproduction, distribution or transmission of any information, part or parts of this website by any means whatsoever is permitted without the prior written permission of the PGA European Tour.