The European Tour

3/24/2010 5:50:00 PM

The European Tour celebrates men’s professional golf on a global stage. In 2017, the European Tour International Schedule features 47 tournaments in 26 countries, all part of the Race to Dubai, the year-long competition which crowns the European Tour Number One at the end of the season, a title claimed in 2016 by Henrik Stenson for the second time.

Since its formation in 1972, the European Tour has witnessed 26 Members celebrate a total of 52 Major Championship titles between them, enjoyed ten Members attaining the pinnacle of World Number One and has celebrated its diversity as players from 36 different countries have won on Tour.

The European Tour also manages the Challenge Tour, which features 26 tournaments in 20 countries in 2017, and the Senior Tour. It is also the Managing Partner of Ryder Cup Europe, the body which, alongside the PGA of America, administers golf’s greatest team contest, The Ryder Cup.

The European Tour broadcasts live coverage of its tournaments to over 490 million homes in more than 150 countries every week, generating in excess of 2200 global broadcast hours for each event. It also enjoys the support of many of the world’s leading business brands with Rolex, BMW, Jumeirah Golf Estates, Emirates and Titleist as Official Partner.

The present Board is: David Williams (Chairman), Angel Gallardo, Paul Eales, Chris Hanell, David Jones, Rob Lee, Paul McGinley, John O'Leary, Mark Roe, D J Russell, Ove Sellberg, Jamie Spence, Jutta af Rosenborg, Damon Buffini and Sophie Goldschmidt.

The present Tournament Committee comprises: David Howell (Chairman), Felipe Aguilar, Thomas Bjørn, Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Michael Hoey, Robert Karlsson, Paul Lawrie, Peter Lawrie, Paul McGinley, Edoardo Molinari, James Morrison, Henrik Stenson, Graeme Storm, Anthony Wall and Bernd Weisberger.