With this win - Michael Hoey

10/2/2011 5:22:03 PM
Michael Hoey  (Getty Images)
Michael Hoey (Getty Images)


• His third European Tour International Schedule victory in his 139th European Tour event.

• Moves to €852,427 in The Race to Dubai. This represents his highest single season earnings. This beats his previous best of €341,327 in 2009.

• His second victory of the 2011 season, following the Madeira Islands Open.

• Becomes the seventh multiple winner of the season. They are: Luke Donald (WGC – Accenture Match Play Championship, BMW PGA Championship and Barclays Scottish Open), Thomas Björn (Commercialbank Qatar Masters presented by Dolphin Energy, Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles and Omega European Masters), Charl Schwartzel (Joburg Open and Masters Tournament), Darren Clarke (Iberdrola Open and The 140th Open Championship), Alex Noren (Saab Wales Open and Nordea Masters), Simon Dyson (Irish Open presented by Discover Ireland and KLM Open) and Michael Hoey (Madeira Islands Open and Alfred Dunhill Links Championship).

• The first time in his European Tour career he has recorded multiple victories in the same season.

• The second time this season he has won after leading or sharing the lead going into the final round. Shared the 54 hole lead with Jamie Elson at the Madeira Islands Open.

• This victor makes history for Northern Ireland. It would be the first time the country has recorded five victories in a single European Tour season. The 2011 wins are: Darren Clarke (Iberdrola Open and The 140th Open Championship), Michael Hoey (Madeira Islands Open and Alfred Dunhill Links Championship) and Rory McIlroy (US Open Championship).

• The first player from Northern Ireland to win the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.


• The fifth player from Northern Ireland to win twice or more in the same European Tour season. He follows: Darren Clarke (1998, 2000, 2008 and 2011), David Feherty (1986), Graeme McDowell (2008 and 2010) and Ronan Rafferty (1989 and 1990).

• The 42nd Northern Irish win in European Tour history.

• This victory beats his previous best performance in the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship of tied 19th in 2009.

• His sixth win as a professional.

• Gains a two year European Tour exemption until the end of 2013.

• Gains his biggest European Tour prize of €588,148.

• Gains a place in the 2011 WGC – HSBC Champions and 20102 WGC – Bridgestone Invitational.