Worth the Wait: 2011 Review

3/7/2012 12:28:14 PM
Raphael Jacquelin won the 2011 staging of the Sicilian Open.  (Getty Images)
Raphael Jacquelin won the 2011 staging of the Sicilian Open. (Getty Images)

Raphaël Jacquelin captured last year’s Sicilian Open by one shot after a weather-delayed fourth round. Here, in an excerpt from The European Tour Yearbook 2012, we recap how the Frenchman claimed his third European Tour title in Italy.

When you have waited almost four years to notch your third title on The European Tour International Schedule, holding on for one more day is not too much to ask. So it was for Raphaël Jacquelin who wrapped up victory in the inaugural Sicilian Open on the Monday morning.
The Frenchman had last tasted success in the BMW Asian Open in April 2007 but a two and half hour delay for a thunderstorm on the Italian island on Sunday meant his next title celebrations were put on hold.
When play did resume some 14 hours later the 36 year old succeeded in holding off the brave challenge of Englishman Anthony Wall to notch the first French victory of the 2011 season and indeed the first French triumph on The European Tour since Grégory Bourdy won the UBS Hong Kong Open in November 2009.

Wall had been the pacesetter at halfway but Jacquelin’s third round 69, in response to the Englishman’s one over par 72, saw him grab pole position going into the final day which became a two horse race as the pair entered the home straight.

Having resumed play at 7.00 am on the Monday morning, Wall immediately drew level with a birdie three at the 13th but saw his chance of victory evaporate when he found the water at the 17th en route to a double bogey six. He bravely birdied the 18th, but Jacquelin’s two regulation pars were good enough for victory.

To order your copy of The European Tour Yearbook 2012, a 240-page, full colour hardback Official Publication with iconic pictures by Getty Images and essays from some of the game's top writers that takes you every step of the way through 52 tournaments and 29 destinations on The 2011 Race to Dubai, click here.