'Greatest Team on Earth' set for DP World Tour Championship

10/4/2012 11:23:38 AM
The victorious Ryder Cup team will be teeing it up at Wentworth   (EuropeanTour)
The victorious Ryder Cup team will be teeing it up at Wentworth (EuropeanTour)

Jose Maria Olazabal’s triumphant European Ryder Cup team will round off the season in style by starring at the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai being held on the Earth course at Jumeirah Golf Estates from 22-25 November.

Europe’s stunning 14½-13½ win over the USA at Medinah secured the famous trophy for the Spaniard’s team and with it gave a massive boost to the $8 million DP World Tour Championship, Dubai – the final event on The European Tour’s Race to Dubai.

“With the top 60 in The Race to Dubai guaranteed a place at Jumeirah Golf Estates, the line up is always going to be impressive but it certainly adds extra sparkle to know we will have all of the winning Ryder Cup team in attendance,” said European Tour International Director – Dubai, Nick Tarratt.

“I’m sure golf fans in the region will look forward to welcoming and congratulating golf’s ‘Greatest Team on Earth.’”

Race to Dubai leader Rory McIlroy will be joined on the Earth course by team-mates Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, Sergio Garcia, Peter Hanson, Ian Poulter, Paul Lawrie, Francesco Molinari, Martin Kaymer and Nicolas Colsaerts, accounting for one fifth of the players in a starting line-up brimming with talent and star names.

“As well as current US PGA Champion McIlroy, we’ll also have 2012 Open Champion Ernie Els, former Major winners Retief Goosen, Louis Oosthuizen and Charl Schwartzel, and of course Lawrie, McDowell and Kaymer,” added Tarratt.

“Although there are more than six weeks to go before we will know the final 60, many of the biggest names of golf have already secured their places and we look forward to welcoming them to Jumeirah Golf Estates for what will be a celebratory end to The European Tour season.”

For the fourth year in a row, season tickets for the DP World Tour Championship are free of charge and can be obtained by registering at the website www.dpwtc.com.

The tournament is the final event in the year-long Race to Dubai and will see the top 60 ranked players competing for $8 million in prize money as well as a share of The Race to Dubai Bonus Pool of $3.75 million awarded to the top ten in The Race to Dubai at the end of the season.