Did You Know - WGC - HSBC Champions

10/28/2012 8:25:46 AM


*Defending champion, Martin Kaymer will trying to become only the second player to make a successful defence of a WGC event, following Tiger Woods. (1999-2001 and 2005-07 WGC - Bridgestone Invitational), 2002-03 and 2005-07 WGC - Cadillac Championship) and 2003-04 WGC - Accenture Match Play Championship).

*In claiming his first WGC title in the 2011 WGC – HSBC Champions, Martin Kaymer created WGC history by making up five shots in the final round. This is the largest final day comeback by a winner in a WGC stroke play event.

*The quality of the field is highlighted by the fact that two of the 2012 Major Champions are playing as well as two of the 2012 WGC winners. Seven of the top ten players from the Official World Golf Ranking are competing and 13 of the top 20.

*Phil Mickelson is bidding to win the tournament for a third time, having triumphed twice before, including the first time the event gained WGC status in 2009.

*Keegan Bradley, winner of the last WGC event, the WGC – Bridgestone Invitational will try and become just the second player following Tiger Woods to win consecutive WGC tournaments.

*The are a total of ten Major Champions here this week, as well players representing no fewer than 22 countries.

*There will be 42 European Tour Members participating in the 2012 WGC – HSBC Champions. Gaganjeet Bhullar, Scott Hend, David Lipsky, David Lynn, Prom Meesawat, Thorbjørn Olesen and Julien Quesne will be making their WGC debuts.

*Should a European Tour Member win the WGC – HSBC Champions, it would be the third year in succession, following Francesco Moilnari in 2010 and Martin Kaymer in 2011. The only previous WGC event that European Tour Members have won three years in succession was the WGC – Accenture Match Play Championship, with Geoff Ogilvy (2009), Ian Poulter (2010) and Luke Donald (2011).