Record-breakers set for Volvo Golf Champions

12/4/2012 3:58:17 PM
Matteo Manassero (Volvo Golf) ()
Matteo Manassero (Volvo Golf) ()
Matteo Manassero, Miguel Ángel Jiménez, Darren Clarke and Jeev Milkha Singh are the latest players to commit to the Volvo Golf Champions, taking place at the Durban Country Club from the 10th to the 13th January 2013.
When 19 year old Manassero won the Singapore Open in October, golf fans would have been forgiven for suspecting that the game of golf was becoming all about the young generation of golfers but for the fact the very next week, the cigar-loving Spaniard, Miguel Ángel Jiménez, firmly proved this not to be the case winning the Hong Kong Open.

He became the oldest winner on the European Tour by 184 days and even more remarkably, the victory was Jiménez’ 19th on The European Tour, an astounding 12 of which he has won since turning 40.

Manassero, meanwhile, has been breaking records at every turn in his fledgling career. He was the youngest winner of the Amateur Championship in 2009, the youngest winner of the Silver Medal awarded to the leading amateur in The Open Championship at Turnberry and he broke another record in April 2010, when he became the youngest player to make the cut at the Masters.

At 17 he became the youngest winner in European Tour history when he captured the 2010 Castello Masters and was subsequently named Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year for 2010. He added his second title in 2011 at the Maybank Malaysian Open and won the 2012 Singapore Open after eagling the third play-off hole from 15 feet to deny 2010 Open Champion, Oosthuizen his third win of the season.

Manassero said: “I am really looking forward to starting 2013 in Durban at the Volvo Golf Champions. I had a fantastic end to my season after quite a difficult summer so I want to keep this form going into 2013. Although I am really excited about Christmas and having a bit of a rest, I am already looking forward to playing against a field of European Tour champions in such a beautiful venue in the South African sunshine.”  

Darren Clarke - who qualifies along with Colin Montgomerie, José María Olazábal and Thomas Björn as current Tour Members with more than ten European Tour victories - will be hoping to reignite the form that saw him claim his first, long-awaited Major victory at the 140th Open Championship at Royal St George's in Kent by three shots from Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson.

Four 2012 European Ryder Cup stars, Nicolas Colsaerts, Peter Hanson, Paul Lawrie and Francesco Molinari, have also confirmed their participation along with 2012 Scottish Open Champion, Jeev Milkha Singh, a four time winner on the European Tour, and home challengers Louis Oosthuizen, Branden Grace and, subject to a successful return from injury, Retief Goosen.

The Durban Country Club is a renowned Championship course with an impressive résumé having hosted the South African Open on no less than 17 occasions. It enjoys beautiful vistas overlooking the Indian Ocean and is considered one of the most unique and challenging courses in the world. It was recently voted one of the Top 100 golf courses in the World by Golf Magazine USA and is undoubtedly a shot maker’s course that players will have to think their way around during the Volvo Golf Champions.

The KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Government has over 70 golf courses in the region which flourish in this beautiful garden province of South Africa.