35 European Tour Members secure Masters Invitations

1/14/2013 4:15:00 PM
Amen Corner - the famous 11th, 12th and 13th holes at Augusta National.  (Getty Images)
Amen Corner - the famous 11th, 12th and 13th holes at Augusta National. (Getty Images)

The first Major of the season, the Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club from April 11-14, will see at least 35 European Tour Members looking to win the famous Green Jacket.

The Masters Committee has released the most up-to-date list of tournament invitations after Thaworn Wiratchant of Thailand and Ryo Ishikawa of Japan recently accepted invitations to compete in this year’s Tournament. To date, invitees will represent 21 countries and include 16 first-time participants and six amateurs.

Wiratchant, last year’s Asian Tour Order of Merit winner, is the 35th European Tour Member to be added to a field which currently totals 85 players.

Billy Payne, Chairman of Augusta National Golf Club and the Masters Tournament, said: “Through our established qualifications, and invitations to select international players not otherwise qualified, we historically bring together a collection of the world’s top players, and this year is no different.

“The Masters has long established a tradition of supporting the global game, and we were excited to extend invitations to Thaworn Wiratchant and Ryo Ishikawa, who we hope will provide added interest and enthusiasm for golf in Asia through their participation in the Tournament.”


Thomas Björn; Angel Cabrera; Tim Clark; Darren Clarke; George Coetzee; Nicolas Colsaerts; Luke Donald; Jamie Donaldson; Ernie Els; Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño; Sergio Garcia; Branden Grace; Peter Hanson; Padraig Harrington; Trevor Immelman; Martin Kaymer; Bernhard Langer; Paul Lawrie; Sandy Lyle; David Lynn; Matteo Manassero; Graeme McDowell; Rory McIlroy;  Francesco Molinari; José María Olazábal; Thorbjørn Olesen; Louis Oosthuizen; Ian Poulter; Justin Rose; Charl Schwartzel; Vijay Singh; Tom Watson; Lee Westwood; Thaworn Wiratchant; Ian Woosnam.