With this win - Kiradech Aphibarnrat

3/24/2013 8:37:00 AM
Kiradech Aphibarnrat  (Getty Images)
Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Getty Images)

• His first European Tour International Schedule victory in his 26th European Tour event.

• Moves into the top 90 of the Official World Golf Ranking from 170th.

• This victory beats his previous best European Tour performance of tied third in the 2010 Maybank Malaysian Open.

• Becomes the fifth first-time winner of the 2013 season. They are: Scott Jamieson (Nelson Mandela Championship presented ISPS Handa), Chris Wood (Commercial Bank Qatar Masters), Matt Kuchar (World Golf Championships – Accenture Match Play Championship), Dawie Van Der Walt (Tshwane Open) and Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Maybank Malaysian Open).

• His second consecutive top four finish on The European Tour following his fourth place finish in the Avantha Masters.

• Victory comes in his fourth appearance in the Maybank Malaysian Open.

• The third wire-to-wire winner of the 2013 season. He follows Richard Sterne (Joburg Open) and Tiger Woods (World Golf Championships – Cadillac Championship).

• The first wire-to-wire winner with no ties after any round since Branden Grace (2012 Alfred Dunhill Links Championship).

• Since the Maybank Malaysian Open became part of The European Tour in 1999, became the fourth wire-to-winner. He follows Alastair Forsyth (2002), Arjun Atwal (2003) and Thongchai Jaidee (2005).

• Becomes the first player from Thailand since Thongchai Jaidee (2012 ISPS Handa Wales Open) to win on The European Tour.

• Becomes the third Thai victory in the Maybank Malaysian Open since the event became part of The European Tour in 1999, following Thongchai Jaidee (2004-2005).

• Becomes the youngest winner on the 2013 European Tour to date, aged 23 years and 244 days.


• Joins Gerry Norquist (1999), Yeh Wei-tze (2000), Alastair Forsyth (2002), Thongchai Jaidee (2004), Charlie Wi (2006), Anthony Kang (2009) and Noh Seung-yul (2010), as players to make the Maybank Malaysian Open their first European Tour victory.

• Becomes the eighth Thai victory in European Tour history.

• Becomes the fourth different Thai to win on The European Tour. He follows Thongchai Jaidee, Chapchai Nirat and Thaworn Wiratchant.

• Gains a European Tour exemption until the end of the 2015 season.

• Gains a place in the 2013 WGC – HSBC Champions and 2014 Volvo Golf Champions.

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €350,410.

• His third victory as a professional.