With this win - Matteo Manassero

5/26/2013 10:30:00 PM
Matteo Manassero   (Getty Images)
Matteo Manassero (Getty Images)

• His fourth European Tour International Schedule victory in his 82nd European Tour event.

• Moves to €1,055,491 in The Race to Dubai. The second consecutive European Tour season he has passed €1 million in a single European Tour season.

• Moves into the top 30 of the Official World Golf Ranking from 57th.

• Aged 20 years and 37 days becomes the youngest winner in the history of the Championship, beating the previous record of Bernard Gallacher in 1969, who was aged 20 years and 97 days.

• His first European Tour victory since the 2012 Singapore Open.

• His fourth consecutive European Tour season with a victory, dating back to the 2010 season. This matches the current European Tour record for most consecutive winning years of four, alongside Ian Poulter and Louis Oosthuizen.

• This victory comes in his fourth BMW PGA Championship appearance.

• This victory beats his previous best performance in the BMW PGA Championship of tied seventh in 2011.

• The second of his four European Tour victories where he has made up a final round deficit. The other event was his first win at the 2010 CASTELLÓ MASTERS Costa Azahar.

• In the last 11 Championships, dating back to 2003, the winner has made up a final round deficit on six occasions. The winners were: Ignacio Garrido (2003), Scott Drummond (2004), Anders Hansen (2007), Miguel Angel Jiménez (2008), Simon Khan (2010) and Matteo Manassero (2013).

• Only the second Italian to win the Championship, following Costantino Rocca in 1996.

• Becomes the 45th different player to win the Championship, dating back to 1955.


• This victory is the first Italian triumph since Manassero won the 2012 Singapore Open.

• The fourth consecutive European Tour season that Italy have won on The European Tour, dating back to 2010.

• The 19th Italian victory in European Tour history.

• Becomes the first player to win the Championship in their 20s since José María Olazábal in 1994.

• The 19th victory in the Championship by a player in their 20s.

• Becomes the youngest winner on The European Tour in 2013. 

• Moves into second place in the list of most prolific Italian winners on The European Tour, just one behind Costantino Rocca with five.

• His maintains his 100% record in European Tour play-offs, played two, won two.

• Gains a European Tour exemption until the end of 2018.

• Gains his largest European Tour prize of €791,660.

• Moves over €4 million in European Tour Official Career Earnings from just 82 European Tour events.

• Gains an exemption in the 2013 US Open Championship.

• Gains a three year European Tour exemption into The Open Championship.

• Gains an exemption into the 2013 WGC – Bridgestone Invitational, 2013 WGC – HSBC Champions and 2014 Volvo Golf Champions.

• His fourth victory as a professional.